In addition to being an enthusiastic but slightly incompetent crocheter, I am also an enthusiastic and mostly incompetent quilter. I am hampered by being unable to draw,cut,or sew in a straight line. Not sure why. Maybe it is neurological.

This shortcoming is a real problem in quilting.Seams are supposed to meet up.Sometimes a number of them. Mine don’t. Not even close.

But then I discovered rag quilts. They hide some of these crooked seams. What a great concept.

Here is my first rag quilt:

20140410-130257.jpg

I made it using a fat square bundle. Don’t know what “fat square” means (some insider quilting thing?)but it is an 18 inch by 21 inch piece of fabric and a pack has coordinating colors.

So to rag quilt, you sew together with the seams showing on the right side of the fabric. Don’t want to mention how many times I had to take it apart because I got confused about what side to sew on.

So you sew the seam 1/4 to 1/2 inch wide. I don’t have complete control over this process ( see above comment on sewing straight lines) so my seams are probably between 1/8 in and 3/4 in.

Then you snip (but not into the seam) the fabric, and you wash, and dry and the fabric gets frayed. Ok this didn’t fray because my snips were too far apart. At least that is my theory.

So this completed the topper and I still needed batting, backing, quilting it and trimming to make it into a quilt. I use machine quilting since I don’t know how to do anything else. Not fancy quilting machine stuff just a regular sewing machine.

This process is really hard because you have to layer the topper, batting, and backing and then quilt them without ending up with pulls, puckers, and extra fabric at one end (always happens to me).

My mother in law said to pin the heck out of it which helped. But using fusible batting helps a lot more.You layer the topper, fusible batting, and backing and then iron and the fusible stuff will keep them together until it is washed.

Then I just used the “stitch in a ditch” method. You just follow your seams on the front and the back ends up looking like this:

20140410-130308.jpg

Thus it is quilted.

Then you still have to trim it finish the raw edges. Exhausting.

Luckily I discovered an easier way to rag quilt that is simpler and more forgiving. More about that later.

But I am pretty proud of this one. It is currently being used as a chair cushion cover like this:
20140406-211736.jpg

This is because the chair used to look like this:
20140406-211647.jpg

My son has an unusual relationship with furniture. Any furniture left alone with him will meet a tragic and unexpected end.

Once a desk chair he was using ended up falling apart because all the screws fell out. It is not like he had a screw driver. No tools at all. Yet all the screws not only fell out but disappeared. Weird.

So one day I noticed that the fake leather was being peeled off this chair. How do you even do that? Again my son has no access tools or sharp objects. I never see him peeling the chair but he is often surrounded by pieces so …

Anyway I think the quilt makes a pretty nifty chair cover. Gives it some color and a nice homey look.

