Ok this is a little outside of my mission statement but I just read the review of a book called “The Reason I Jump” which is described as the journal of a nonverbal 13 year old with autism.

This book was compiled using Facilitated Communication.For those not familiar with F.C., it is the “process by which a person referred to as the “facilitator” supports the hand or arm of a communicatively impaired individual while using a keyboard or other devices with the aim of helping the individual to point and thereby to communicate.”

So in many (not all) cases of FC, it turns out the person with autism is busy thinking really deep thoughts about the meaning of life and the future of humanity.This is the case with the boy in this book.

Hmmm.

My son uses his limited verbal ability to tell us what to do, how to do it, when to do it. And not to touch his stuff.

I guess we didn’t get one of those deeply spiritual kids with autism.

Just a regular one.

