20140612-153956.jpg

Time for teacher gifts again.

I have been wanting to make something with the Peaches and Creme striped cotton yarn in red,white, and blue. With the 4th of July coming up, it seemed like a water bottle carrier was an appropriate gift.

I used an empty water bottle as a guide. I was really happy with the result.

Then I learned that a full water bottle is really,really heavy. The whole bag stretched about 2 inches with a full water bottle. So I started again.

I used an H hook and needed slightly more than half of the 2 oz skein of cotton yarn.

I wanted a flat bottom so I made a circle using a magic circle and sc 6 in the ring then slip stitch into first stitch and chain one. The next round was 2 sc in each stitch. The next round was 2 sc in first,1 sc next stitch, 2 sc in next,etc-all the way around. The next round was 2 sc,1 sc,1 sc,2sc etc. until the desired size.

I wanted a ridge so I sc in front loops only for the last round.

The sides were alternating 3 rows of sc and 3 rows of (hdc,ch 1, sk 1) until the desired height. I wanted to end on the sc so I didn’t quite keep the pattern.

The strap was made by sc in 4 stitches, ch 1, turn, etc.(without fastening off)

I just made a strap lenght that seemed comfortable to me.
Once the strap is long enough, fasten off and whip stitch to opposite side.

