Tags

,

My short sleeve cardigan is taking longer than expected. Thought I would share some pics in progress. This is my first fitted garment so I struggled with the pattern.

The pattern I am using http://ktandthesquid.com/2015/01/26/spring-cardi-free-crochet-pattern-kt-and-the-squid/:

I am using Red Heart Anne Geddes yarn with a “G” hook.

The first part is called the back. But it is more of the shoulders I think. Here it is:

20150411-204727.jpg

So the number you chain will fit shoulder to shoulder and the number of rows will be important in determining the arm hole size. Mine ended up a little wide and short but I kept going.

The next part are the front panels. Took some trial and error here too. Will look like this after first panel.

20150411-205010.jpg

And like this after the second panel.
image

Now it is time for the bottom in the pattern which actually 2/3 of the sweater. If you put the piece on at this point it is more obvious where to crochet.The panels go over your shoulder and hang in front. Mine are a little narrow but I figure I can make a wider collar. You continue inside from the front panel continue to the back and aroud to the other front and then turn and come back and you have this:
image

I should have taken a better picture at the beginning of this step but I forgot.

Now on to the collar (finishing in pattern) and sleeves.

