Tags

20150615-165100.jpg

I saw a post with a recipe with vegan meringues made with the liquid from a can of chickpeas(aka garbanzo beans). No way would this be good, I thought. Wrong.

For the meringues, I used the recipe at http://community.kidswithfoodallergies.org/blog/the-egg-free-vegan-meringue-recipe-that-will-shock-you except I added 1 cup of sugar.

The bean juice whips up so much fluffier than egg whites. My family detected a difference in texture but not taste. And we eat lots of meringues.

I used the actual beans to make gingerbread chickpea blondies. I started with the recipe at http://www.hummusapien.com/gingerbread-chickpea-blondies/.

Since I only had peanut butter instead of cashew butter and it was too dry so I added a tablespoon of veg oil. Also the result was only very lightly sweetened so I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Now it was sweet but more like a cookie dough so I threw in an egg (the original recipe is vegan).
I also left out the choc chips.

I frosted with a chocolate freshly whipped heavy cream. My family felt the frosting did not add anything.

