Tags

,

20150930-161122.jpg

I have been using a gluten free flour for my baked goods but this tends to result in what my family calls ” a gluten free after-taste”. I have wanted to try coconut flour but I feared my desserts would taste coconutty and I really dislike coconut.

But I decided to give the coconut flour a try. I started with the recipe at:http://sweetbasilnspice.blogspot.com/2012/12/paleo-banana-muffins.html.

I made a few changes as paleo wasn’t the goal.

I used 3 small brown spotted bananas instead of 2
I used 1/2 cup of sugar as my sweetner
I used 1/3 cup canola oil instead of coconut
I used only 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon.

The rest of the recipe was the same.

This resulted in 24 mini muffins. I baked for 23 minutes but they might have been a bit overdone.

They were a hit and didn’t tase coconutty and didn’t have an after-taste. They texture was a bit rubbery but no one cared.

